Wednesday, October 15, 2008

body language

This week, I want to write about body language.
When I lived in LA, I had American boyfriend. We had been together about 8 month. When I started to dating with him, I was kind of suprised. Because he uses body language when he talk. And, it was kind of funny for me. Because we don't really use body language in Japan.
I went to language school, so in the school, there was just international student. So he was the first American person that I talk a lot and share opinion. It was really nice for me to had American boyfriend. Because we had to talk to express our opinion, so I had to use many words as much as I knew. He gave me a hand with my home work, told me about American culture, teach me pronunciation. Like when I got ticket from police, it was really handy to had American boyfriend. ha ha
I learned a lot from him. So I think to have a boyfriend or girlfriend is the best way to learn another culture and language.
When I talk in English, I don't really use body language. Because I not used to using body language, and I'm shy person. But some of my friend use body language when they talk in English. ( I mean when they talk in Japanese, they don't use body language.) I respect them. Because body language is international language I think. Everyone can understand easily. I think personality is very important part of studying another language too. I studied English before I went to LA, so I knew some words and grammer. But one of my friend even didn't know any words and grammer. Only she knew was "My name is..." But she is funny and open-minded person. So she used body language a lot, and smiled a lot. So another international students who came from Korea, Taiwan etc.. were interested in her. She could not speak a lot, but she has friends more than me. I want to give her a big hand.

Have a great week!!!



Peace... Miho

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Hi Miho! Yes, I agree. Body language is very important in the United States. I used so much body language when I went to Japan that some people became confused! I think it's really hard to NOT use body language. Today, for example, I had to do a speech in my Japanese class. It is a Japanese class, so I am supposed to try to be as Japanese as I can. However, I kept on moving my hands and everything!!

It's funny that you say your friend smiled a lot even when she did not understand much English. I ALWAYS smile! I think it's the best way to communicate.

I know that many Japanese people do not look into the eyes of the other person when they are talking. My friend Erika (a Japanese exchange student 2 years ago) never looked in people's eyes for the first two months that she was in the United States. After that though, she finally realized that Americans have no problem with looking at other people's eyes when they are talking, so she finally began to look at everyone!